Most Total Years Holding Office

Green Officeholders – Most Total Years Holding Office

32 years • David Conley, Board of Supervisors, Douglas County, Wisconsin (1986-2018)

By the completion of his 2018  term, David Conley served for 32 years on the Douglas County Board of Supervisors – the longest of any U.S. Green.

Conley was first elected in April 1986, and was elected to 16 consecutive two-year terms overall.

23+ years • Bruce Delgado. Mayor and City Council, Marina, California (2000-2004, 2008-present)

Bruce Delgado was elected to a four year term on the Marina City Council (Monterey County) in California in 2000, then elected Mayor to two year terms in 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016. This was followed by election to four-year terms as Mayor in 2018 and again in 2022, after the length of the mayor terms was changed in 2018.

As of early 2024, Delgado will have served more than 23 years.

23 years • Annie Young, Parks and Recreation Commission, Minneapolis, Minnesota (1994-2017)

By the completion of her 2017 term, Annie Young served for 19 years as a Green on the City of Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Commission. Young was first elected to the Commission in 1989 as a Democrat and was re-elected in 1993. Before taking office in 1994, she changed her party membership to Green. Young’s five consecutive four-year terms as a Green since then make her the only U.S. Greens to win five, four-year term elections.  Young passed away in 2018.

18 years • Art Goodtimes, County Commissioner, San Miguel County, Colorado (1998-2016) 

By the completion of his 2016 term Art Goodtimes served for 18 years as a Green. Elected to the San Miguel County Board of Commissioners from the western Third District of San Miguel County in 1996 as a Democrat, Goodtimes switched to the Green Party in September 1998, following a change in state laws giving ballot status to minor parties in Colorado, and was elected as a Green four times since.

16+ years • Dona Spring, City Council, Berkeley, California (1992-2009)

Dona Spring served for 16 years on the Berkeley City Council, passing away while in office in July 2009. Spring was first elected in November 1992, to the first of three, two-years terms. In 1998, the city of Berkeley switched from two-year to four-year City Council terms. Berkeley voters then re-elected Spring in 1998, 2002 and 2006.

16 years • Cam Gordon, City Council, Minneapolis, Minnesota (2005-2021)

Cam Gordon was elected to four consecutive four-year terms on the Minneapolis City Council in Hennepin County, Minnesota – one of three U.S. Greens to win four, four-year terms. His elections in 2013 and 2017 were conducted under ranked-choice voting.

16 years •  Alan Drusys, City Council, Yucaipa, California (1994-2010)

Alan Drusys was elected to four consecutive four-year terms on the Yucaipa City Council in San Bernardino County, California – one of three U.S. Greens to win four, four-year terms.  His last meeting was in November 2010.

16 years • Carolyn Dixon, Governing Board of Directors, Wright Elementary School District, Santa Rosa, California (2006-2022)

Carolyn Dixon was first elected in November 2006 to a four year term on the Governing Board of Directors of the Wright Elementary School District, a PreK-8 public school district in Santa Rosa (Sonoma County) in California. She was then elected to three more consecutive four-year terms.

16 years • John Selawsky, School Board of Education, Berkeley Schools (2000-2012), Rent Stabalization Board (2014-2018) , Berkeley, California

Carolyn Dixon John Selawsky was first elected in November 2000 to the first of three four year terms on the School Board of Education for the Berkeley Schools District in Berkeley (Alameda County). After two years out of office, he was then elected to a four-year term on the Berkeley Rent Stablization Board.

14 years • Raymond C. Meyer, Lucas County Hospital Board of Trustees, Iowa (1998-2014)

Raymond C. Meyer served for 16 consecutive years on the Lucas County Hospital Board of Trustees,  the last 14 of them as a Green after he joined the Iowa Green Party in 2000.

12 years • Lew Tremaine, Town Council, Fairfax, California (1999-2011)

Lew Tremaine  served for 12 consecutive years on the Fairfax Town Council. Tremaine was first elected in November 1999, to the first of three four-year terms.

12 years • Bob Ornelas, City Council, Arcata, California (1990-1994, 1996-2004) 

Bob Ornelas was first elected to the Arcata City Council in in November 1990, to the first of three four-year terms. He did not run for re-election in 1994, but did run and was elected in 1996 and 2000.

12 years • Joyce Brown, City Council, Chapel Hill, North Carolina (1989-2001)

Joyce Brown was first elected to the Chapel Hill City Council in in November 1989, to the first of three consecutive four-year terms.

10 years • Frank Koehn, Board of Supervisors, Bayfield County, Wisconsin (1986-1998)

Frank Koehn was first elected to the Bayfield County Board of Supervisors in 1986, to the first of five-consecutive two-year terms. His five two-year terms are the second most two-year terms among U.S. Greens, for any office.