Greens holding elected office, July 1, 2013

At least 144 Greens hold elected office in 20 states across the United States as of July 1, 2013 elections, according to these criteria of who qualifies for inclusion in this list.  Below includes 141 Greens currently serving in elected office, who were elected to those offices. Two others joined the Green Party after being elected and a third was a Green appointed to elected office.

Alaska (2)

Della Coburn, City Council, City of Kasaan
Della Coburn, Tribal Council, Organized Village of Kasaan

Arkansas (5)

California (53)

Colorado (3)


Leif SmithConstable, Redding, 11/08/2011 to 11/02/2013

Delaware (1)

Adriana Bohm, School Board of Trustees,  Election District A, Red Clay School District, (New Castle County) 5/13/2013 to 5/13/2018

District of Colombia (3)

Renee Bowser, Advisory Neighborhood Commission, SMD 4D02, Washington, DC 11/06/2012 to 11/03/2014
Joyce Robinson-Paul, Advisory Neighborhood Commission, SMD 5E05, Washington, DC 11/06/2012 to 11/03/2014
JB Shoatz, Advisory Neighborhood Commission, SMD 8B04, Washington, DC 11/06/2012 to 11/03/2014

Florida (1)


Jon Murray, Village Trustee, Mount Morris, Ogle County

Jessica Bradshaw, City Council, Carbondale 4/09/2013 to 4/03/2017
Peter Schwartzman, City Council, Galesburg, Ward 5  4/05/2011 to 4/06/2015
Toni Williams, School Board, Thornton Township HS District 205, Cook County) 4/05/2011 to 4/06/2015
Steve Alesch, Vice President, Warrenville Park District 4/05/2011 to 4/06/2015
Michael Drennan, President, Ridgeville Park District, Evanston 4/04/2011 to 4/03/2017
Robert Braam, Library Board of Trustees, Manhattan-Elwood Library Board (Will County) 4/04/2013 to 4/03/2017
Don Crawford, Library Board of Trustees, St. Elmo Public Library District (Fayette County) 4/05/2011 to 4/04/2017
Sandy Lezon, Library Board of Trustees, Warrenville Public Library District, Warrenville 4/09/2013 to 4/01/2019
Bruce Samuels, Board of Trustees, Oak Park Public Library Board  4/09/2013 to 4/03/2017 

Iowa (2)

Maine (10)

John Anton, City Council, At-Large, Portland (Cumberland County) 11/02/2010 to 11/04/2013
Kevin Donoghue, City Council, Portland District 1, Cumberland County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016
David Marshall, City Council, District 2, Portland (Cumberland County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016
Malorie Pastor, City Council, Old Orchard Beach (York) 6/11/2013 to 11/03/2014
Adam Harkins, School Boardmember, Southport Central School District (Lincoln County) 3/05/2012 to 3/02/2015
Danny Jackson, School Board member, Maine School Administrative District/Regional School Unit #40, Waldoboro (County) 6/11/2013 to 6/13/2016
Jane Meisenbach, School Board, MSAD 75, Cumberland County) 3/12/2011 to 3/07/2014
Holly Seeliger, School Board, District 2, Portland (Cumberland County) 11/06/2012 to 11/02/2015
Deron Whittemore, School Board member, Solon representative, Maine School Administrative District 74 (MSAD) (Somerset County) 3/02/2013 to  3/04/2016
Gil Harris, Budget Committee, Limerick (York County) 3/05/2013 to 3/10/2016

Maryland (2)

Christine Nagle, City Council, District 1, College Park  (Prince George’s County) 11/08/2011 to 11/04/2013
James Wilkinson, Town Council, Berwyn Heights (Prince George’s County) 5/01/2012 to 5/04/2014

Massachusetts (3)

Joyce Palmer-Fortune, Selectboard, Whately (Franklin County) 6/12/2012 to 6/08/2015
Gail Garrett , Select Board, Mt. Washington (Berkshire) 5/08/2012 to 5/11/2015
Nat Fortune, School Committee, Whately Elementary (Franklin County) 6/12/2012 to 6/08/2015
Frank Gatti, Town Meeting Member, Amherst Precinct 8 (Hampshire County) 4/03/2012 to 3/30/2015
Eleanor Manire-Gatti, Town Meeting Member, Amherst Precinct 8 (Hampshire County) 4/03/2012 to 3/30/2015
MK Merelice, Town Meeting Seat, Precinct 6, Brookline (Norfolk County)  4/30/2013 to 5/02/2016
Vincent O’Connor, Town Meeting Seat, Amherst (Hampshire County) 4/01/2012 to 3/28/2015
Gail Garrett, Town Clerk, , Mt. Washington (Berkshire)  4/30/2013 to 5/12/2014
David Spanagel, Town Moderator, Lancaster (Worcester County)5/13/2013 to 5/11/2014

Michigan (1)

Korine Bachleda, Township Clerk, Newberg Township (Cass County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016

Minnesota (4)

Cam Gordon, City Council, Ward 2, Minneapolis (Hennepin County) 11/03/2009 to 11/04/2013
Laura Libby, City Council, Section 1, Crystal (Hennepin County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016
John Matheson, City Council, Hilltop (Anoka County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016
Annie Young, Commissioner, Park and Recreation Board, Minneapolis (Hennepin County) 11/03/2009 to 11/04/2013

Nebraska (1)

New Jersey (1)

New York (5)

Ohio (2)

Oklahoma (1)


Oregon (8)

Chandler Cruise, Mayor, Antelope  (Wasco County) 11/06/2012 to 11/07/2016
Michael Beilstein, City Council, Ward 5, Corvallis (Benton County) 11/06/2012 to 11/03/2014
Mark Camara, City Council, Toledo At-Large (Lincoln County) 11/02/2010 to 11/03/2014
Kathleen Fitzpatrick, City Council, Mosier (Wasco County) 11/02/2010 to 11/03/2014
Richard Hervey, City Council, Ward 3, Corvallis (Benton County) 11/06/2012 to 11/03/2014
Eric Navickas, City Council, Position 2, Ashland (Jackson County) 11/02/2010 to to 11/01/2014
Alex Polikoff, Corvallis Rural Fire Protection District, 5/21/2013 to 11/06/2017
Matt Donohue, Circuit Court Judge (Benton County) 3/13/2013 to 11/04/2014 (appointed 3/13/2013)


Michael Bagdes-Canning, Borough Council, Cherry Valley Borough (Butler County) 11/08/2011 to 11/02/2015
Jay Sweeney, Auditor, Falls Township (Wyoming County) 11/03/2009 to 11/02/2015
Charles Michael Farley, Minority Inspector of Elections, Hanover Borough Ward 4 (York County) 11/03/2009 to 11/04/2013
Randi Peters, Inspector of Elections, (Berks County) 11/03/2009 to 11/04/2013
Stephen Weisser, Inspector of Elections, York City (York County) 11/03/2009 to 11/04/2013
Bill Smedley, Constable, Nippenose Township (Lycoming County) 11/03/2009 to 11/02/2015

Rob Piemme, Inspector of Elections, Aspinwall , Allegheny County

South Carolina (1)

Eugene Platt, James Island Public Service District, James Island (Charleston County) 11/06/2012  to 11/07/2016

Texas (2)


Virginia (3)

Giannina Frantz, Soil & Water Conservation Board, Tri-County/City District, Fredrickburg (Warren County) 11/08/2011 to 11/02/2015
Ira Richards III, Soil & Water Conservation Board, Lord Fairfax District (Warren County) 11/08/2011 to 11/02/2015
Chris Simmons, Soil & Water Conservation District Director, Loudon (Loudon County) 11/08/2011 to 11/02/2015 



Wisconsin (9)